Wanting

Have we locked ourselves apart?”
– Chito L. Aguilar

Have we locked ourselves apart?

WANTING
(A Lover’s Lament: To Add, Subtract or Alter)

you give me your word
yet, I find you wanting in deed
as your BEST becomes BEAST
when ‘A’ hitch comes between us.

you give me your thoughts
yet, I find you wanting in brains
for your BETTER becomes BITTER
when ‘I’ brush your ‘E’go.

you give me your time
yet, I find you wanting in moments
when your HOUR diminishes
to become OUR bane.

you give me your attention
yet, I find you wanting in affection
for your HEART is no HEARTH
and your WILL is your ILL.

you give me your embrace
yet, I find you wanting in warmth
for your ARMS are but ALMS
that disguise your disdain.

but if ‘U’ leave my AUBURNED life
then, A BURNED out man I shall be!

– wanting
is between
giving and taking.

(c) 2001 Chito L. Aguilar

8 thoughts on “Wanting

    • Ah, mi amiga, you make me smile too ;).
      Whenever I read your posts and comments,
      I fee in-sync with your world.

      You’re not as old as Time, but yes, certainly
      you have given much, as I feel generosity is
      among your virtues.

      Muchas gracias!

    • 😉 Thank you very much, Marina.
      You make my day by your potent comment.
      My favorite poets are, Robert Frost, Walt Whitman, Omar Khayyam,
      Marne Kilates, Rainer Maria Rilke, Jose Rizal, and William Shakespeare.
      I like the poetry of William Ernest Henley too; and Rolando Carbonell.

I welcome your comments. Thank you!

