Rose Enchanted

When on bed of roses we lie
And upon their sweet scent we sigh
Abruptly we hear our own cry
When thorns concealed prick us and pry.”
-Chito L. Aguilar

ROSE ENCHANTED

(For Palestine Rose)

enchanted rose of petals pink
thorns and leaves upon your stem
clever flower you make me think
enticed by your sweet anthem.

take my love to my lady fair
extend my kiss to her lips
rest your pure scent upon her hair
and stay at her finger tips.

(between
rose and woman
is scent.

between
woman and rose
is cent.)

– value
is between
scent and cent.

(c) 2006 Chito L. Aguilar

“Rose is a rose is a rose is a rose.”
–  Gertrude Stein (1874 – 1946), U.S. writer

“In me the tiger sniffs the rose.”
– Siegfried Sassoon (1886 – 1967)

ROSES AND THORNS

(For Genie)

creases on leaves and lines on petals
a long stem twisted with spiny thorns

blossom buds that win over mortals
but mock the fury of goblin scorns

carved on Roman pillars and portals
kin to Greek rams of crooked horns

thorns and roses of verdant sepals
home to pristine dew on early morns

a rose is not rose without petals
as rose is not a rose without thorns.

– between
rose and thorn
is leaf.

– between
woman and man
is grief.

(c) 2007 Chito L. Aguilar

17 thoughts on “Rose Enchanted

  1. I am speechless… your poem is extraordinary… such an honour, I am humbled by your generosity and tremendous talent. “home to pristine dew on early morns”. Amazing.
    Thank you.

      • Yes, indeed… Let freedom ring!

        I am so moved by your dedicated your magnificent rose poems to me, Chito.
        Thank you, just doesn’t seem like enough, I wish I could tell you how much it means to me…

      • Chito, it’s so confusing! wordpress changed all my settings, so now my name is associated with: aplacecalledlove as my profile setting with gravatar, but it has cancelled al my subscriptions! So I signed up again to follow you and am leaving this message to let you know that and also to thank you once agin for dedicating your lovely poems to me.

  2. I’ve just nominated you for the “Inspiring Blog Award”, as I find your writing most beautiful and uplifting:-) Please see my post of 18th May to learn more about this award.

    • Hi Sarah,

      Many thanks for the nomination! I’m happy you find my writing
      “most beautiful and uplifting”. I admire your style too, and I’m
      glad that our paths crossed here in cyberspace.

      Chito 😉

I welcome your comments. Thank you!

