My Shadow

“And all my good is but vain hope of gain.
The day is past, and yet I saw no sun.
– Chidiock Tichborne (1558? – 1586),
English conspirator, executed in 1586

MY SHADOW

ever by me,
it trails like entrails
tracking me in fluid motion
as I wander in the moonlight;

my silent stalker
in the stillness of night;
misshapen figure
changing form as I move;

i cannot catch or clutch,
i cannot grasp or clasp,
i cannot beat or defeat;

until

i move into absolute darkness
where it melts (becoming one)
with the utter blackness,

swallowing me whole!

– between 
my shadow and me
are my shoes.

– between 
shadow and light
is matter.

(c) 2004 Chito L. Aguilar

17 thoughts on “My Shadow

  1. love the poem…but wow that photo…there’s a real nosferatu element there:) it’s a shadow week i think:))) Several of us have posted with one:)

  2. Wonderful poetic expressions! Do you remember my blog site http://musewithcoffee.wordpress.com? I have been experimenting with various shades of writing, and I found that I was most comfortable with poetry and fiction with a touch of adventure and inspiration. So, this time, I wrote an ebook 12 Precious Anecdotes from Life and it has been released in amazon stores : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0087OXSS2 I can connect with your posts so I am mentioning the book link to you. If you have some time, you could check out the book link and the sample 🙂

I welcome your comments. Thank you!

