Footprints on the Wall

Hence, I must move on
As I leave my own footprints
In the sands of earth…
… on the Shore of Time
… on the Wall of Life!”
-Chito L. Aguilar

FOOTPRINTS ON THE WALL
(a Haiku string)

Footprints on the wall
What kind of fool left them there?
Pray, do tell me why

What kind of artist
Made this wall his art’s canvass?
Pray, shed me some light

I felt uneasy
Upon seeing such a mess
On wall of the mall

Unlike those on sand
No waves can wash them away
Shall I wipe them out?

Then I realized
These footprints left on the wall
Were meant to be there

The fool who made them
Never really intended
To provoke a thought

Perhaps he just meant
To soil the wall, leave his mark
(The vandal in him…)

(The artist in him…)
May have found reason profound
To leave a message –

Those footprints were meant
For us; to remind us all
To ponder our own

We make our own prints
On the constant Wall of Life
As we journey on

The footprints we leave
As we move from firm to frail:
Indelible marks!

Hence, I must move on
As I leave my own footprints
In the sands of earth…

… on the Shore of Time
… on the Wall of Life!

© 2012 Chito L. Aguilar

10 thoughts on “Footprints on the Wall

  1. So beautifully written, mi amigo…and very inspiring for me.

    I had hoped to get some writing done while in hospital, but it was such a disturbing experience (and I was so heavily drugged) that I accomplished nothing there. Thank you for today’s “prompt”!

    • Muchas gracias, mi amiga!
      I must say I missed you. At least I’m relieved that you are getting fine now
      after that hospital bout. I’m certain your footprints on the Web matter much to
      your readers, who like me, missed your presence.
      Happy to see your posts again…

I welcome your comments. Thank you!

