Craft Me No Basket

CRAFT ME NO BASKET

(for Marissa A.,
world-class artist-designer, author, lecturer,
trend-setter, entrepreneur, dentist’s wife,
brain tumor survivor, my friend)

craft me no basket
(of either weave or wicker)
make me no bag
(of either twine or fiber)
form me no frame
(of either edge or border).

bequeath to me a basket
woven with your wicker of amity
bestow upon me a bag
twined with your fiber of creativity
behest for me a frame
edged with your border of alacrity.

in your world
of colors bright and pastels light
of stuff indigenous and art ingenious
of foreign sprints and hectic stints

you remain nifty but tough (no doubt)
that no sprout brain tumor could rout.

for your artistry, infirmity is no bout.

– between
ornate artistry and plain dentistry
is love chemistry.

© 2007 Chito L. Aguilar

12 thoughts on “Craft Me No Basket

    • Muchas gracias, mi amiga!
      Such creativity from a dear friend deserves more than lyrics.
      I thank God, she continues to make people happy with her craft; as you, mi amiga, continue to delight with your wonderful photography.

  1. Hi I hope you don’t mind – but I have nominated you for ‘The Blog of the Year Award 2012’. The details are on my page at http://worldlywinds.com/2012/11/22/blog-of-the-year-2012/
    If you do not participate in the awards system then I apologise for inconveniencing you – and please feel free to accept or decline as you wish. I just wanted to say thank you for following my ramblings and thank you for inspiring me with your work! Alex 🙂

    • Hi Alex,
      Thank you so much for your nomination. I truly appreciate your kindness.
      Your simple likes and heartwarming comments on my posts are rewarding enough. Let no plume fill my cap; let no laurel carve my name; let my heart thru pen ink flow.

      Muchas gracias! Have a nice day.
      🙂

I welcome your comments. Thank you!